Your Vote. Your Voice. Your Cooperative.
Thursday | May 26, 2022

At South Plains Electric Cooperative, you are more than a customer, you’re a member. As a member, you have a voice in the leadership. Your vote in our annual board election is your voice in your Cooperative.

Like other electric co-ops, South Plains Electric is guided by a locally-elected board of directors that represents its members when making important decisions. Being a member of the board is an important and highly-respected position in the community, and directors devote considerable time to the cause of powering our communities and empowering co-op members to improve the quality of their lives.

A director’s decisions affect issues such as electric rates, utility easements and capital credits, as well as strategic, financial and work plans. The post requires savvy, selfless people who understand their community’s needs and work to represent the members’ best interests.

All electric co-op boards benefit from the experience and accumulated knowledge of incumbent directors, many of whom undergo substantial education on topics such as the electric industry, technology, governance, risk management, rate-setting and policy development. The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association offers training for directors to achieve national benchmarks such as Credentialed Cooperative Director or Board Leadership Certification. Established directors provide continuity and a depth of knowledge for the Cooperative.

Our board is a democratically-elected body, with each director nominated by Cooperative members and voted in to position by all members who choose to participate in the Cooperative’s open election at the Annual Membership Meeting on August 16.

Nominating Committees for Districts 2, 8 and 10 met on May 5 and the petition deadline was May 19. Nominating Committees for District 1 met on May 16 and the petition deadline was May 30.

Those nominated at these meetings were:

District 1 - Joe McFerrin

District 2 - Danny Stanton

District 8 - Benny Nixon

District 10 - Scott Martin

All elections shall be by secret ballot. All members attending the Annual Membership Meeting will cast their ballots, and the candidates receiving the most votes will be declared the winners.

If you would like more information, contact Jamey Phillips at (806) 775-7854 or

Directors matter. Call (806) 775-7766 or visit to find out who represents you on the Cooperative’s board. Reach out to them with any concerns—or compliments—about your Cooperative.